Rand-B-TNR Scale for Mutant Power Levels

See also: Rand-B-TNR scale.pdf

This scale is used to define the power level of a mutant. It is taught in Power Studies courses.

The official scale

As explained by John-R-SMR-3, the scale runs as follows:


Though not an official class, this simply means that a clone has not been identified as being a mutant.

Class A -- "Weak"

A-class mutations come in two types: they can either be primarily physical, conveying no special powers, and/or potentially hindering the mutant (an example might be a clone decanted with no eyes); or a more limited form of a Class B Mutation.

One example of a Class A mutant has been discovered in the shape of one "James-O".

Class B -- "Average"

Presumably, most mutants are B-class.

John-R is B-class.

Class C -- "Fairly strong"

This is the highest class permitted to register their mutation. Some C-class mutants may have more than one mutation, though they may only register one.

Class D -- "Very strong"

Mutants of this class or above may not register their mutation.

This class if for mutants with two or more mutations, or one highly treasonous mutation (such as Machine Empathy).

There are no known examples of D-class mutants.

Class E -- "Extremely strong"

E-class mutants have four or more mutations. Any encountered should be incarcerated or forcibly limited.

There are no known examples of E-class mutants.

Class F -- "Off the scale"

F-class mutants are either terminated on sight, or imprisoned in one of several mutant prisons in the Underplex.

It is generally extremely difficult to do either, though. One method which has shown promise is to employ the help of other F-class mutants, which makes you wonder how they caught the first one.

Examples are Freaky and Headgrabber.

MRO Extensions -- clearance BLUE, R&D-Beta or MRO-Alpha

The Mutant Registration Office has recently proposed extensions to the Scale, due to several factors, including:

  1. a recent increase in the registration of truly useless or harmful mutations, notably those rendering the body disfigured in such a way as to be difficult to attribute to an injury;

  2. the release of Document MRO-227/812, which proposes guidelines relating a mutant's ability to use his power to where he stands on the Scale; this would most likely adjust the rating of many mutants, both up and down, requiring A Class to be something other than just a dumping ground for all the weak and useless mutants;

  3. events occuring in JHT Sector. The details are not clear, but it is known that nanomachines are involved. A proposal has been put forward to extend the scale to denote nanomachine-based mutations, though none are known at this time.

The proposed extensions are as follows:

  • Redefine Class A to only refer to mutants with verifiable mutant powers.

  • Introduce the following new classes:

Class AA -- "Physically deformed"

As it sounds, Class AA is intended for clones who may be otherwise normal and possess no known powers, but suffer from some sort of physical deformity that makes them stand out. The example of a clone beinng decanted without eyes given above might fit here.

Class O -- "Self-terminating"

This class in intended to denote those mutations which, if left alone, are actively harmful to the mutant. If not removed or otherwise controlled, they will prove fatal.

Class N -- "Nanomachine-derived"

Self-explanatory. Of course, such a mutation may take any form, and may fall under any other class as well as this one. In that case, the N may be used as a prefix.